Armed Janitors in Schools to Protect Our Children

Ohio sure knows how to get attention, remember the saying you can’t win the White House without winning Ohio. Well, here we go, the Montpelier, Ohio school board thinks it’s a great idea to have armed janitors in the school to protect our children. I disagree. I don’t think there should be guns in schools for any reason. But I am just one person with one voice, so I will say this loud and clear, schools are not the place for guns. I want our children protected too, and I’m sure if the Montpelier, Ohio school board and other groups around the country sit down and think about this a little more, we can come up with other options.

Not only do I disagree with having guns in school, I do not feel a sense of security having janitors walking the halls of our children’s schools armed with guns. Why janitors? If I were in favor of armed security in schools,and let me say it again, I am not, I would choose those who already do this as a profession, police officers, SWAT, and secret service agents, never janitors.

I might be accused of adding to our problems, but I have to wonder how was it decided that janitors should be shields and protectors for our children? Is it because when it comes to the level of education and salary of most janitors their lives are not that important? If we lose a few janitors in the cross fire it is okay, because we can always replace janitors and their median salary. Replacing police officers who may lose their lives protecting our little ones is more costly and saving money is the name of the game. Choosing janitors for protecting our children over police officers…cost savings is written all over this.

Janitor – U.S. National Averages Base pay only

10th% 25th% 75th% 90th%

$19,005 $21,768 $28,498 $31,861

The median expected salary for a typical Janitor in the United States is $24,803
http://www1.salary.com/Janitor-Salary.html

Police Patrol Officer – U.S. National Averages Base pay only

10th% 25th% 75th% 90th%

$34,355 $42,027 $59,528 $67,790

The median expected salary for a typical Police Patrol Officer in the United States is $50,454.
http://www1.salary.com/police-officer-Salary.html

Janitors may think of it as an honor if asked to defend and protect our children, and if the intentions of those doing the asking are doing it for the right reasons then yes, it can be an honorable position to have, but it is not necessary. We have men and women right now, who carry the badge and swear to uphold the law and protect the citizens of the United States and that would include our children too. We shouldn’t allow guns to enter our schools and we shouldn’t use janitors in this capacity. I give the school board credit for trying, but I would like for the Montpelier, Ohio school board to go back to the table and try again. Ohio is known for great outcomes, and I think Ohio is the one state that can solve the gun control issue.

2 thoughts on “Armed Janitors in Schools to Protect Our Children

  1. Pingback: John Lott’s Website: Montpelier, Ohio to let janitors carry concealed handguns in schools | 2nd Amendment, Shooting & Firearms Blog

    1. inredsquare Post author

      Thank you for your comment and sharing your views on gun laws in our country. I am posting your comments because I want people to engage in civil conversations on this very important topic. I do stand firm in my beliefs that guns should not be permitted our schools for any reason. Again thank you for reading my blog and welcome.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

